National Professional Qualifications

To register your interested in the NPQs, please fill in this form or email Jane Emerson at


What are the National Professional Qualifications (NPQs)?

National professional qualifications (NPQs) are a national, voluntary suite of qualifications designed to support the professional development of teachers and school leaders. They equip teachers with the expertise to lead sustainable improvement across their schools.

With the NPQs schools and trusts can have confidence that all their educators, from classroom teachers to leaders of multiple schools, are building and developing their practice from the same evidence-based framework. 

Please take a look at the page for each qualification where you will find further details and how to apply. 


Three new specialist national professional qualifications (NPQs) have been created to help teachers develop different aspects of their practice in teaching and leadership, replacing the previous NPQ in Middle Leadership. The introduction of three new specialist NPQs means you will be able to invest in your own development without moving away from what you love -  teaching in the classroom.

Rather than a whistle-stop tour of all the problems and challenges of middle leadership, the three specialist NPQs each provide significant depth on those issues most relevant to teachers’ roles, interests and common challenges. These will provide CPD for teachers who want to make their classroom teaching the best it can be, whether or not they move into school leadership. These courses take 12 months to complete.

  • NPQ for Leading Behaviour and Culture
  • NPQ for Leading Teaching
  • NPQ for Leading Teacher Development


The existing three leadership NPQs have been reformed for this year, to a new and more flexible format. The content has been adapted based on an evidence base approved by the Education Endowment Foundation (EEF). The new frameworks seek to map out what best practice means for school leadership, in a move that takes these NPQs away from a more generic approach to leadership. These courses take 18 months to complete. 

  • NPQ for Senior Leadership
  • NPQ for Headship
  • NPQ for Executive Leadership